And It Doesn’t Really Matter…

But it kind of does, but you’ll think I’m stupid. You know, I think I’ll go do something else…

That is kind of what I spend my life doing. I tend to be controlled by what people think of me, tend to spend a lot of time trying to impress and my whole existence seems worthless. WORTHLESS.

Humans were NOT created to spend their time trying to impress others- in fact, I found a link here that showed a theory of why we might spend time trying to impress other and why we shouldn’t.

It’s not like I hate other people- in fact, I quite enjoy company at certain times of the day. But do you ever get the feeling that everyone else in the room is judging you when your logical brain knows that they’re not?

We spend so much of our lives trying to impress others or being scared of them. I don’t want to drop my maths level because then people will think I’m lazy, I don’t want to talk to this person because she’ll think I’m crazy…

It’s good to be crazy, good to not limit yourself when you’re talking to others. It starts to affect all areas of your life, starts to affect your development and the way you think. And while I agree with the article about most thing, I don’t think it’s quite that easy to let go of things that people have said or what you’ve done. It is natural to think about it sometimes.

If I was trying to beat it? I would ask your friends to stop reacting to anything that you say. It may seem a bit extreme (and may lower self confidence if they aren’t excited when you want them to be) and it may not work. I would do it though because it’s one way of stopping thinking that the whole world revolves around you. No one really wants to know what horse I rode (I rode Pedro peoples, thanks for asking) or much about my day to day life. Maybe a few close people would want to know something exciting but you want to know something I’ve found? When your excited, often other people won’t be. I’ve been in situations where no one has even pretended to care about my situation even when I’ve spent weeks trying to do it.

For this reason, and probably this reason only, the method might work for me. I have no idea what your situation is and it might not work for you- maybe finding a group of non-conformist friends or just doing some exercises by yourself. Whatever helps you tune into what you want to be like- not what you want to appear like to everyone else in the world. And one day we can all have a non-conformist society maybe?

Do you seem to have the problem that I do? Are you going to try and combat it? 

One thought on “And It Doesn’t Really Matter…

Leave a Reply

